top of page

Understanding Your Rights: The Griever’s Bill of Rights

Updated: Oct 3, 2023

Grief is an emotional rollercoaster, filled with ups and downs that can leave you feeling disoriented and emotionally drained. No one can predict precisely how they'll react to loss, which is why understanding your rights as a grieving person is critical. The "Griever’s Bill of Rights," penned by grief expert Alan Wolfelt, outlines these rights, serving as a valuable guide to help you navigate the complexities of mourning.

1. The Right to Your Unique Grief

Everyone’s grief is distinct. There’s no one-size-fits-all approach to grieving, and nobody else can dictate how you should or should not feel. Surround yourself with people who understand your uniqueness rather than those who impose their ideas of what grief should look like.

2. The Right to Talk About Your Grief

Speaking about your grief is therapeutic, and it is within your right to share your feelings openly. It’s also okay to seek silence when you need it. The key is balance—find supportive listeners who respect both your need to talk and your moments of introspection.

3. The Right to Feel a Multitude of Emotions

Grief isn’t linear; it’s a tangle of emotions, ranging from sadness and guilt to relief and even joy. Do not let anyone label your emotions as “wrong” or “inappropriate.” Your feelings are valid, and you need a supportive environment to express them freely.

4. The Right to Respect Your Limits

Grieving takes a toll on your emotional and physical well-being. Listen to what your body and mind are telling you. Allow yourself the time and space to heal, and don’t be pressured into “getting back to normal” before you’re ready.

5. The Right to Experience “Griefbursts”

It’s normal for emotions to erupt unexpectedly. Known as "griefbursts," these sudden outpourings can be disconcerting but are a natural part of the healing process. Seek out those who understand and will let you talk through these intense moments.

6. The Right to Utilize Rituals

Rituals like funerals or memorial services offer a communal way to acknowledge loss and begin the healing process. Don’t underestimate the power of these time-honored practices, even if others deem them unnecessary or outdated.

7. The Right to Embrace Your Spirituality

Your spiritual or religious beliefs can offer a strong pillar of support during times of grief. Feel free to lean on your faith and engage with people who respect your spiritual journey, even if that journey includes questioning or anger.

8. The Right to Search for Meaning

Asking “why” is an integral part of grieving. You may or may not find all the answers, but you have the right to search for meaning without being subjected to insensitive platitudes like, "It was God's will."

9. The Right to Treasure Your Memories

The memories you hold are precious gifts, everlasting bonds that remain long after your loved one has passed. Share these treasures with sympathetic listeners as a way to honor your loved one and your own emotional journey.

10. The Right to Heal

Grieving is a process that takes time. You have the right to move through your grief at your own pace. Be gentle with yourself and seek out support from those who understand that grief is not something to “get over” but something you integrate into your life.

Contact Us

The Griever's Bill of Rights provides a framework for understanding and respecting your unique process of mourning. These rights act as pillars, helping you build resilience and find your own path to healing. Remember, no one else can tell you how to grieve, but you don't have to go through it alone. If you or someone you know is struggling with grief or loss and could benefit from a specialized, strengths-based, and client-centered approach, we're here to help. Visit our website, [], to schedule a free consultation. Let's take this journey together, creating a space for healing, understanding, and hope.



bottom of page